38 Coal Industry Firms Recognized for Commitment to Workplace Safety

ACI’s Tygart Valley Leer Complex wins the Eustace E. Frederick Milestones of Safety Award and Phoenix Coal-Mac’s Holden 22 Surface Mine wins Barton B. Lay, Jr. Award

CHARLESTON — Mine safety is a central focus of West Virginia’s coal industry. At the 43rd Annual West Virginia Mining Symposium in Charleston, 38 mining and service companies were recognized for their commitment to exemplary safety performance in 2015.

Topping the list of award winners was ACI Tygart Valley Leer Complex, which took home the Eustace E. Frederick Milestones of Safety Award and Phoenix Coal-Mac’s Holden 22 Surface Mine that took home the Barton B. Lay Award.

“Our member companies strive each day to provide their employees with the safest possibly workplace,” said Chris Hamilton, senior vice president of the West Virginia Coal Association.  “This past year, 2015, was one of our safest on record and these companies have set a standard with their focus on reducing workplace injuries and getting everyone home at the end of their shifts. We applaud their hard work and dedication to this, our most important responsibility.”

The Mountaineer Guardian Awards are presented each year to mining companies that have demonstrated a commitment to safety standards. Inspectors for the West Virginia Office of Mine Health Safety and Training nominate the companies based on numerous criteria.

Full List of Mountaineer Guardian Award Winners:



ACI Tygart Valley, Leer Complex

Taylor County



Phoenix Coal-Mac, Holden #22 Surface Mine, Logan County


Independent Contractor

Carter Machinery, Mercer County/Statewide

Walker Machinery, Kanawha County/Statewide



Company Mine County
Tunnel Ridge, LLC Sentinel Mine Ohio
Brooks Run Mining Company Horsecreek #1 McDowell
Greenbrier Minerals Lower War Eagle Wyoming
Spartan Mining Company Lower War Eagle McDowell
Aracoma Coal Company, Inc. Cedar Grove 2 Logan
Aracoma Coal Company, Inc. Hernshaw Mine Logan
Mingo Logan Coal Company Mountaineer II Logan
ICG Beckley, LLC Beckley Pocahontas Raleigh
Marfork Coal Allen Powellton Raleigh
Mammoth Coal Slabcamp Kanawha



Company Mine County
L.P. Minerals, LLC Ralph Six Marion
Extra Energy, Inc. Easter Ridge Surface McDowell
Extra Energy, Inc. Dry Branch Surface McDowell
Onyx Energy, LLC Weyanoke Surface Mercer
Consol of Kentucky Twin Branch Surface Mingo
Greenbrier Minerals Toney Fork Logan
Brooks Run Mining Co. Seven Pines Webster
Princess Polyanna No. 1 Surface Mine Greenbrier
Marfork Coal Workman Raleigh
Pritchard Coal Dry Branch No. 1 Kanawha



Preparation Plant

Company Mine/Facility County
Eastern Coal Federal No. 2 Marion
Coresco, LLC Prep Plant Monongalia
Carter Roag Coal Co. Star Bridge Plant Randolph
Kepler Processing Kepler # 1 Wyoming
Litwar Processing Co. LLC Litwar Processing McDowell
Pinnacle Mining Co. LLC Pinnacle Pre Plant McDowell
Greenbrier Minerals Elk Lick Loadout Greenbrier
Mingo Logan Coal Company Cardinal Prep Plant Logan
Phoenix Coal-Mac Ragland Loadout Mingo/Logan
Kanawha River Terminals Ceredo Dock Cabell/Wayne
Maple Coal Company Maple Prep Plant Fayette
Pocahontas Coal Company Affinity Prep Plant Fayette
Power Mountain Power Mountain Processing Nicholas



Company Mine County
Pounding Mill Mercer Crushed Stone Mercer
J.F. Allen and Company Aggregates Quarry Randolph



— 30 –

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s